News and Events

Midco Foundation Awards 69 Grants to Area Service Organizations

June 11, 2021 – Sioux Falls, SD – The Midco Foundation has awarded more than $100,000 to 69 nonprofits, schools and government organizations across the Midwest. These grant recipients have been recognized as positive changemakers in their 33 respective communities. The grants are part of an ongoing commitment to be a force for good in the communities that Midco serves.

“Midco is proud to be able to support the incredible projects in the communities we serve,” said Wynne Haakenstad, Chair & Executive Director of the Midco Foundation. “Our foundation board reviewed an exceptionally large number of applications this spring, resulting in financial assistance to 69 organizations. These organizations provide assistance to a variety of great causes, including support for food insecurity, schools and family services. We are truly grateful for their tireless work to support our communities.” 

Since its inception in 1987, the Midco Foundation has donated more than $5 million to support the work of non-profit organizations, local governments and schools. In 2020, the Midco Foundation donated $250,000 to area food banks to address food insecurity due to COVID-19.

The Midco Foundation board reviews and approves funding requests to charitable entities twice a year and encourages nonprofit organizations to apply for future grants for special projects, facilities improvements, equipment and programs. Review the requirements, criteria and application at Applications are being accepted for the fall 2021 grant cycle until the August 31 deadline.

The following list details the organizations receiving spring 2021 grants:


Lawrence:       Pelathe District Boy Scouts of America $1,000        
Lawrence:       Communities In Schools of Mid-America $1,000
Lawrence:       Lawrence Habitat for Humanity $1,000
Lawrence:       Kansas Big Brothers Big Sisters (KSBBBS) serving Douglas County $1,500
Lawrence:       Success By 6 $1,500
Lawrence:       Warm Hearts of Douglas County $2,000
Lawrence:       Just Food of Douglas County $2,000
Lawrence:       Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center $2,500


Annandale:      Annandale Elementary $1,000
Bemidji:           Great River Rescue $1,200
Bemidji:           Headwaters School of Music and the Arts $1,000
Breckenridge: Someplace Safe Wilkin Advocacy Office $1,000
Crookston:      Polk County Developmental Achievement Center, Inc. $1,500
Detroit Lakes:  City of Detroit Lakes - South Shore Park Funding Committee $2,000
Glyndon:         UC Hope $2,000
International Falls: Falls Hunger Coalition $2,000
Moorhead:       Gooseberry Park Players $1,000
Moorhead:       Moorhead Area Public Schools $1,000
Moorhead:       HOPE, Inc. $1,000
Mora:               Vasaloppet Inc. $1,000
Ortonville:        Prairie Five/Big Stone Lake Area Food Shelf $1,000
Ortonville:        Big Stone County Housing and Redevelopment Authority $1,000
Princeton:        Kinship Youth Mentoring of Princeton $1,000
Scandia:          Scandia Heritage Alliance $2,500
Scandia:          Gammelgarden Museum $1,000
Wyoming:        City of Wyoming $2,000

North Dakota

Bismarck:        Missouri Slop Areawide United Way $1,000
Bismarck:        TR 4 Heart and Soul $1,000
Bismarck:        Bismarck Cancer Center Foundation $1,000
Bismarck:        The Village Family Service Center $1,500
Bismarck:        Closet 127 $1,500
Bismarck:        Tracy's Sanctuary House $1,500
Devils Lake:    Devils Lake Rotary Foundation $2,000
Devils Lake:    City of Devils Lake - Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 756 $2,000
Dickinson:       Stark County Fair Association Board $1,500
Dickinson:       Dakota Children’s Advocacy Center $1,500
Fargo:              Fargo Youth Baseball $1,000
Fargo:              New Life Center $1,000
Fargo:              Afro-American Development Association (AADA) $1,000
Fargo:              ShareHouse $1,000
Fargo:              Friends of the Children – Fargo-Moorhead $2,000
Grand Forks:   Grand Forks Parks & Recreation Foundation $1,500
Hillsboro:         Hillsboro Elementary School Backpack Program $1,000
Jamestown:    Anne Carlsen Center $2,500
Larimore:         Larimore Fire Protection District $1,000
Minot:              Northern Plains Children's Advocacy Center $1,000
Minot:              Minot Public School Foundation – Erik Ramstad Middle School $1,000
Minot:              Minot Public School Foundation $1,000
Minot:              YWCA Minot $1,000
Rugby:            Good Samaritan Hospital Association – Heart of America Medical Center $1,500

South Dakota

Big Stone City: Little Lions’ Learning Center $1,000
Mission:           Teach For America – South Dakota $2,000
Mitchell:           First Circuit Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) Program $1,000
Mitchell:           Mitchell Area Safehouse $2,500
Rapid City:      Youth & Family Services, Inc. $2,500
Redfield:          Redfield Community Hospital and Clinic Foundation $5,000
Sioux Falls:     South Dakota HDSA $1,000
Sioux Falls:     Family Service, Inc. $1,000
Sioux Falls:     Sioux Falls Stage (Fiscally Sponsored by the Sioux Falls Arts Council) $1,000
Sioux Falls:     McCrossan Boys Ranch $1,000
Sioux Falls:     Accelerate $1,000
Sioux Falls:     American Red Cross South Dakota $1,500
Sioux Falls:     The Salvation Army $1,500
Sioux Falls:     Habitat for Humanity of Greater Sioux Falls Inc. $2,000
Sioux Falls:     Accurate and Conscious Education Academy $2,000
Spearfish:        Spearfish Foundation for Public Education $1,000
Spearfish:        Northern Hills Area CASA Program $2,000
Watertown:      Watertown Middle School – Science Dept $1,500
Yankton:          United Way and Volunteer Services of Greater Yankton $1,000