News and Events

Midco Foundation Awards 35 Communities with Grants

December 5, 2017 – Sioux Falls, SD: Committed to giving back to the communities it serves, Midco has awarded 73 nonprofits, schools and government organizations with a Midco Foundation grant. The organizations, which span 35 communities, learned about their grant awards in November. In total, the Midco Foundation awarded more than $109,000 in grant money this fall.

“The Midco Foundation was proud to award 73 organizations with grants. These inspiring organizations make our communities better, and we’re honored to help them achieve their missions,” said Wynne Haakenstad, Director of Programming for Midco and Chairperson of the Midco Foundation. “Our board, comprised of Midco team members, meticulously reviews all the applications to assess the organization’s impact on our communities. It is a difficult and humbling task with so many worthy organizations and causes.”

The Foundation board reviews and approves funding requests to charitable entities twice a year. Since 1987, the Foundation has awarded more than $4.7 million to causes within its service area. Some of this year’s grantees include:

  • Girl Scouts – Dakota Horizons: $3,000 to enhance member and volunteer services
  • Kansas United Youth Basketball Program: $5,000 to provide 10 scholarships for youth to learn basketball skills and life lessons
  • TNT Kid’s Fitness: $2,500 to help kids grow their confidence through movement

The Midco Foundation encourages nonprofit organizations in the communities it serves to apply for future grants for special projects, facilities improvements, equipment and programs. Review the requirements, criteria and application at Midco.com/Foundation. Applications for the spring 2018 grant cycle opened today and will be accepted through March 1, 2018. Applicants will receive a status notification by May 1.

The following list details the organizations receiving fall 2017 grants:


  • Eudora: Eudora Schools Foundation
  • Lawrence: Just Food for Douglas County
  • Lawrence: Kansas United Youth Basketball Program


  • Bemidji: Bemidji Community Theater
  • Crookston: RiverView Health
  • Fairmont: Project 1590
  • Holdingford: Helping Hands Outreach
  • International Falls: Falls Hunger Coalition
  • International Falls: Friends Against Abuse
  • International Falls: Koochiching County Senior Center
  • Moorhead: Lake Agassiz Habitat for Humanity
  • Moorhead: Park Christian School
  • North Branch: Home & Away Ministries dba Ruby’s Pantry


North Dakota
  • Bismarck: Abused Adult Resource Center
  • Bismarck: Burleigh County Sheriff’s Department
  • Bismarck: Missouri Valley Family YMCA
  • Bismarck: Welcome House Inc.
  • Buffalo: Margaret Fraase Public Library
  • Devils Lake: Sweetwater Elementary School
  • Devils Lake: The Village Family Service Center
  • Dickinson: Best Friends Mentoring Program
  • Fargo: Anne Carlsen Center
  • Fargo: Emergency Food Pantry
  • Fargo: Essentia Health Regional Foundation
  • Fargo: Fargo Little League
  • Fargo: Fargo Moorhead Coalition for Homeless
  • Fargo: Fargo Moorhead Youth Choir
  • Fargo: Jeremiah Program
  • Fargo: Lutheran Social Services of ND
  • Fargo: Plains Art Museum
  • Fargo: Rebuilding Together Fargo-Moorhead Area
  • Fargo: TNT Kid’s Fitness
  • Golden Valley: City of Golden Valley
  • Grafton: Grafton Parks and Recreation
  • Grand Forks: Grand Forks Central High School Engineering
  • Grand Forks: Grand Forks Senior Center
  • Grand Forks: Safe Kids Grand Forks
  • Hankinson: Hankinson Fire Protection District
  • Harvey: Harvey Police Department
  • Horace: Farm Rescue
  • Mandan: Dreams in Motion Inc.
  • Minot: American Red Cross Dakotas Region
  • Minot: Children’s Museum of Minot
  • Minot: Dakota Hope Clinic
  • Pick City: Pick City Park Project
  • West Fargo: West Fargo Fire Department


South Dakota
  • Aberdeen: Aspire, Inc.
  • Aberdeen: Hub Area Habitat for Humanity
  • Crooks: Crooks Flag Football League
  • Lead: Lead/Deadwood Arts Council
  • Lennox: Lennox Community Transit
  • Mitchell: Abbott House
  • Piedmont: Piedmont Park Board
  • Pierre: River Cities Public Transit
  • Rapid City: Working Against Violence Inc.
  • Sioux Falls: Boys & Girls Club of the Sioux Empire
  • Sioux Falls: Breathe Bravely
  • Sioux Falls: Center of Hope
  • Sioux Falls: DakotAbilities
  • Sioux Falls: Dress for Success Sioux Falls
  • Sioux Falls: East River Legal Services
  • Sioux Falls: Girl Scouts – Dakota Horizons
  • Sioux Falls: Minnehaha Co Emergency Management Rescue Squad
  • Sioux Falls: School of EMS
  • Sioux Falls: SD Network Against Family Violence
  • Sioux Falls: Sioux Falls Youth Hockey Association
  • Sioux Falls: Siouxland Libraries
  • Sioux Falls: The Salvation Army
  • Sioux Falls: Volunteers of America, Dakotas
  • Valley Springs: The Compassionate Friends Sioux Falls Chapter
  • Watertown: Watertown Community Foundation – Codington 4-H
  • Watertown: Watertown Middle School

Media Contact

Paige Pearson Meyer
Director of Community and Media Relations