News and Events


Midco Foundation Awards 63 Grants to Area Service Organizations

June 17, 2022 – Sioux Falls, SD: The Midco Foundation has awarded more than $100,000 to 63 nonprofits, schools and government organizations across the Midwest. These grant recipients have been recognized as positive changemakers in their 34 respective communities. The grants are part of an ongoing commitment to be a force for good in the communities Midco serves.

“Midco is proud to be able to support such incredible organizations in the communities we serve,” said Wynne Haakenstad, Chair & Executive Director of the Midco Foundation. “Our foundation board meticulously reviewed exceptional applications this spring, resulting in financial assistance to 63 worthy organizations. Their services and projects align beautifully with Midco’s commitment to help strengthen our communities and ignite inspiration and innovation. In such a great time of need, we are truly thankful for the variety of services they provide to help meet those goals.”

Since its inception in 1987, the Midco Foundation has donated more than $5 million to support the work of non-profit organizations, local governments and schools.

The Midco Foundation board reviews and approves funding requests to charitable entities twice a year and encourages non-profit organizations to apply for future grants for special projects, facilities improvements, equipment and programs. Review the requirements, criteria and application at Applications are being accepted for the fall 2022 grant cycle until the August 24 deadline.

The following list details the organizations receiving spring 2022 grants:



Lawrence: Just Food of Douglas County, KS $2,000
Lawrence: Big Brothers Big Sisters Serving Douglas County $1,000
Lawrence: Lawrence KS Juneteenth Organization $2,500
Lawrence: Lawrence River City Cosmopolitan Club $2,000
Lawrence: Warm Hearts of Douglas County $1,000
Tonganoxie: Be New Youth Center $2,000



Annandale: Annandale Elementary Kindergarten $1,000
Canby: Canby 4 Kids $1,000
Cambridge: East Central Regional Library $1,000
Detroit Lakes: Boys & Girls Club of Detroit Lakes, Inc. $3,000
Eden Prairie: Operation Homefront, Inc. $1,000
Fairmont: Cardinal Power Fastpitch $3,000
Fairmont: Fairmont Girls Basketball Association $1,000
Glyndon: UC Hope DGF $2,000
Moorhead: Gooseberry Park Players $1,000
Moorhead: Legal Services of Northwest Minnesota $1,000
Moorhead: Moorhead Area Public Schools $1,000
Moorhead: Moorhead Police Athletics and Activities League $1,500
Ortonville: Prairie Five/Big Stone Lake Area Food Shelf $1,000
Roseville: PeaceMaker Minnesota $1,000
Scandia: Scandia Elementary Enrichment Foundation $1,000
Spicer: Adam Hoekstra Memorial Scholarship $1,000
St. Cloud: Junior Achievement North – St. Cloud Area $1,500
Wabasha: Eagle Watch, Inc. dba National Eagle Center $2,500


North Dakota

Beulah: Mercer County Women’s Action and Resource Center $1,000
Bismarck: Bismarck Santa Run $1,000
Bismarck: Dakota Boys and Girls Ranch $1,000
Bismarck: Dakota Children’s Advocacy Center $2,500
Bismarck: Inspiring Minds, Center for Dyslexia and Literacy $1,500
Bismarck: Midwest Autism Association $2,500
Bismarck: The Innovation School $1,000
Bismarck: Uspire ND $1,500
Casselton: Casselton Public Library $1,000
Cooperstown: Cooperstown Medical Center Foundation $2,500
Devil’s Lake: City of Devil’s Lake – Veteran’s of Foreign Wars Post 756 $2,000
Fargo: BIO Girls, Inc. $4,000
Fargo: New Life Center $3,500
Fargo: YWCA Cass Clay $1,000
Grand Forks: Community Violence Intervention Center $2,400
Grand Forks: Grand Forks Parks and Recreation Foundation $1,500
Grand Forks: Homeless Helpers $1,000
Jamestown: Anne Carlsen Center $1,000
Minot: Prairie Grit Adaptive Sports $3,000
Minot: Project BEE $1,500

South Dakota

Aberdeen: Boys & Girls Club of Aberdeen $2,000
Brookings: Boys & Girls Club of the Northern Plains $2,000
Huron: Habitat for Humanity of Beadle County $1,000
Huron: United Way Heartland Region $1,000
Mission: Teach For America – South Dakota $2,000
Mitchell: First Circuit Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) Program $1,500
Mitchell: Safe Place of Eastern South Dakota $1,000
Pierre: Oahe Hockey Association $2,000
Rapid City: OneHeart $1,500
Rapid City: The Salvation Army of the Black Hills $1,600
Rapid City: Volunteers of America Northern Rockies $1,500
Rapid City: Youth & Family Services $2,500
Sioux Falls: American Cancer Society $2,000
Sioux Falls: EmBe/FIRST LEGO League $1,500
Sioux Falls: Feeding South Dakota $1,500
Sioux Falls: Habitat for Humanity of Greater Sioux Falls, Inc. $1,500
Sioux Falls: Minnehaha County Emergency Management Rescue Squad $2,500
Sioux Falls: REACH Literacy $2,500
Webster: Webster Diamond Club $1,500